What’s in your handbag?

What’s in your handbag? Go on take a look..I bet there is more in there than you thought.  How much is it worth?  Do you really need all that ‘stuff’?

I have a confession – I love handbags, if I see them for sale I have to look. Most of the time I can resist, but now and then I treat myself to a new one. I have quite a collection – about 25 at the last count!
Some are for special occasions, some are bigger bags for days out, some are just regulars! Up until about 2 months ago my ‘regular’ one was a ditzy print back pack that I had to use a bag organizer in so I could find my ‘stuff’ easily. Nothing worse than showing up at a counter to pay and rummaging the depths of the bag to find your purse!
Well, when the backpack starting showing signs of wear and the straps started to fray I decided it was time for a new one but I knew I wanted something smaller to just carry my essentials in.  All the other bags I had were either too small or too big and besides I quite fancied a ‘cross body one’.

While out shopping in Cardiff I saw the ideal one in the sale at Ollie & Nic’s, a purse that matched was also in the sale.  The assistant thought I was a loony as I pulled out some essentials from my backpack to make sure it all fitted the bag!!

So here it is the contents of my current bag:

What's in your handbag?

What’s in your handbag?

I don’t have to carry any childcare accoutrements or make-up – my kids are grown up and I slap on a bit of moisturiser and that will have to do for my aging features!!

So here is what’s in my handbag and the value of the items:

  • Ollie & Nic bag – £125
  • Ollie & Nic Purse – £54 Contents at the moment – £15 cash, £5 Tesco voucher, various credit / debit cards and reward cards.
  • Mobile phone and case – £250. I don’t go out without my phone. The case is handy as it has room for a credit /debit card.
  • Panasonic TZ8 Camera, case and mini tripod – £200. My camera goes where I go. Even though the phone has a camera it doesn’t compare to this.
  • Notepad – no value.  I have a head like a sieve so have to jot down what I need before going out and to write down ideas.
  • Parker diamond Pen – £30. This was present on the birth of our first son 30 years ago, it means a lot to me.
  • Sony headphones – £99 – I prefer these to the mobile headphones for listening to music.
  • Paracetamol – no value.  Just in case of a headache!
  • Hand wash- £1. Always in my bag, great for sticky / mucky hands and great for cleaning specs!

All that adds up to just under £780. Crikey, do I really tote around that much value? Imagine what the value used to be..I used to have a another mobile worth £50, an iPod touch £150, sunglasses (prescription) £150.

Wondering about keys and tissues??? They go in my pocket!!

This was posted as an entry to a competition. It’s over now and I didn’t win!!

2 comments on “What’s in your handbag?

  1. Your bag is dead tidy compared to mine, I couldn’t believe how much stuff I carted around!

    • Sue says:

      My old bag was a mess, the bigger the bag the more messy it gets! This one just about fits in what’s in the piccie!

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?