The Bloggerverse

I have been contemplating this post for a few weeks and not even sure how it should be worded..all I know is that I wanted to say ‘something’ about the Bloggerverse and how I think it works for both good times and bad.

I started blogging regularly in January 2012 after seeing a tweet to a blog post linking to #Project366. The blog post was a photo and linked to The Boy and Me where bloggers were posting a photo a day (or a photo a week). As I’m a keen amateur I thought I’d join in.
I resurrected my blog and started linking each week. I visited lots of blogs and started following a few more – I already followed a few from Twitter and Facebook feeds.
A trickle of new followers, likes and comments followed and some have become regulars (they know who they are!) and I’ve also added some to my Blog Roll (in the sidebar >)

But what I love most about blogging is the love and support that is given when some bloggers hit bad times.
One of the first blogs I followed was Multiple Mummy, Kerry posted interesting posts, craft, photos and family but in late July last year she became very poorly and despite a brave fight she died just before Christmas. I do hope her hubby Nick and children are coping ok.

Then there is Emma at Crazy with twins – battling thyroid cancer and was in isolation after the last treatment which meant no hugs from hubby and her beautiful children. She was on TV, radio and in the local press. It must have been tough not being able to hold the children and hard for them to know why Mummy couldn’t kiss and cuddle them. I’m glad to see that the isolation didn’t last as long as expected. I bet they all had huge hugs!!

On to Jennie at Edspire who lost her baby Matilda Mae. It’s devastating to lose a precious child. She recently posted Dear Brit Mums Live Attendees,   it is hard to know what to say to people who have had a loss and  I think Jennie has been very eloquent in this post, giving ‘permission’ for people to be sad along with her.  When I lost my Mum one of the nicest things was a young lad I worked with, he just put his hand on my arm and whispered ‘I’ve been thinking of you’. It says everything without saying the stock ‘I’m sorry for your loss’

Next is Donna at Mummybird who is going through emotional upheaval after her husband left – Oh and flying for the first time – despite being terrified!!

On all occasions (and for others I’ve not included) the Bloggerverse rallies round. Sending good wishes, messages of support, help and advice and raising money for any good causes and charities involved.

I hope that those who have had to go through hell and back feel supported and loved.  My Nan always said ‘trust in the kindness of strangers’

AND

There is of course the fun side of the Bloggerverse.  Linkys that send you off to look at other blogs and you find posts that have you crying with laughter. My favourite recently was this –Lucas’s BIG question ,  if you want a good laugh read Cathie’s blog.

AND

The Twitters –

@needaphone, @ali991, ‏@ericahughes and @janesgrapevine my early morning tweeters!

@MammasaurusBlog especially when X Factor is on.

Thank you so much for making me laugh and cry and prove the ‘the goodness of strangers’.  Long may you continue!!

If you’re reading this and thinking ‘Why haven’t I been mentioned?’ just let me know.. I’m not a spring chicken and my mind now has many holes in it!!

11 comments on “The Bloggerverse

  1. Thanks for the mention – your post has made me smile and cry, I’m sure it will do the same to lots of people.

  2. Awwh thank you. You are a very special blogger

  3. Thankyou for the mention and for your support. What a lovely post. The blogosphere is truly a wonderful place xx

  4. TheBoyandMe says:

    Thank you do much for mentioning me and the 365 linky, I look forward to your posts.

  5. Alison says:

    Thank you for the mention. Lovely post which really brings out what blogging is about

  6. jennie says:

    Thank you so much for writing this. I am so so proud to be part of such a friendly and supportive community. I miss Matilda Mae and Multiple Mummy very much and it is so nice to know that others do too x Thank you x

  7. Donna Bird says:

    Thank you for the lovely mention, your right about the blogging world being so friendly and pulling together when we need it most. I love that I can put a tweet out when I am down and someone will reply with “are you ok?” Its a great little community.

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

