May Bank Holiday with #Morrisonsmum

Along with some other bloggers I became a #Morrisonsmum for the Bank Holiday weekend. This was an initiative with Morrisons and Britmums.
I was sent some vouchers to complete my Bank Holiday food shop and to take a look at the new cheaper Morrisons. I browsed their website and made a weekend menu plan and a list of some of the food I wanted to buy.  We have a reasonably new Morrisons here in Newport, it’s well set out and always inviting.

The fruit and veg area is always full of fresh produce and they pump dry ice over some of the display. I chose the usual spuds, onions, bananas, apples, tomatoes and cucumber. I also bought some prepared salads, peppers, a chinese stir fry, strawberries and pineapple especially for the weekend.

Then it was onto the meat counter – Rump steak on offer so that HAD to go into the trolley along with a rack of ribs. I also decided to buy 2 chunky steak pies as we’ve not bought them for a while.

I carried on around the store to pick up the rest of my list. They have made a real effort to drop prices on lots of products and there are lots of shelf edge tags and other signage in the store to promote the new pricing.

Morrisons, #morrisonsmum

I came home with quite a haul.  I was impressed with the lower prices, some were pennies but quite a lot were big cuts making Morrisons excellent value and more competitive.

Morrisons, #morrisonsmum The menu plan for the weekend:

Friday – Chunky steak pie  – We used to buy these whenever we visited Morrisons but stopped buying them a while ago as the filling was sparse and the pastry recipe changed – they no longer tasted like home made. Mr. Morrison please don’t do this..I’d prefer pay more than compromise on taste. The filling was still sparse but the pastry was back to how I remembered. They are good value at £1.60 for two.

Saturday – Griddled Rump Steak, tomato and sweet pepper sauce, mushrooms and baked potato. I have never been disappointed with the quality of meat at Morrisons and their rump steak is always juicy and tender.  I made the sauce to go on the side with the mushrooms.  The steak was melt in the mouth tender but please Morrisons butcher don’t tuck the fat around the back it makes it look like you’re trying to hide something – most people know and indeed expect to see a layer of fat at the top of their steak.

Sunday – Ciabatta with stir fried vegetables, spare ribs, fruit salad. I bought a large ciabatta loaf and a pre-prepared stirfry with water chestnuts and bamboo shoots. I cut the loaf into quarters and sliced through each one, place under a grill to warm through,  stirfry the veg and add a little sticky plum sauce. pile into the ciabatta and serve. We also had some spare ribs and finished off with fruit salad. It was demolished quickly by the family!

Monday – Packed a picnic – ham sandwiches, tuna sandwiches, salad, quiche and fruit. Spread it all out on a blankie in the park.

 

Morrisons, #morrisonsmum

I really enjoyed shopping for all the bargains and it’s good to know that Morrisons are keeping prices down. Just don’t compromise on the quality OK Morrisons!!

I’ve added some recipes that I hope you’ll try:

Tomato and Sweet Pepper Sauce to serve four the cost was a total of £1.50 (Peppers 66p, onion 5p, tin tomatoes 79p)

Spare Ribs – to serve two the cost was a total of £4.00 (ribs £3.50, onion and glaze made up another 50p)

I was sent some Morrisons vouchers to shop for the Bank Holiday. All words and opinions are my own.
The words and pictures cannot be reproduced without my permission. 

 

4 comments on “May Bank Holiday with #Morrisonsmum

  1. wow you lucky thing, I would have had a steak too, I do like my meat 😉

  2. Love the sound and the look of your Bank Holiday meals. Commenting for myself @kateonthinice and on behalf of BritMums and thanking you for taking part.

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

