REVIEW: Baker Days Letterbox Cake

I was recently asked to review a Baker Days Letterbox Cake.  They have a huge range of cakes in various sizes available for any occasion you can think of and they can be personalised with stock designs or you can upload your own design/photo/words.

As it’s my birthday soon I chose a birthday cake – you can see more of their selection here: Baker Days Birthday Cakes.

baker days, letterbox cake

The Product: The cake comes well packaged inside a tin to stop it getting damaged, the tin is then placed inside a sturdy box along with a gift card and few balloons, candles and a party blower.
I opened the tin to find a really pretty cake. The icing not only covers the cake but also extends to the edge of the cake board. I kept it for our Bank Holiday day out.  Before we set off I cut it into portions and placed it back in the tin.

baker days, letterbox cake

 

The taste: The cake was a moist Madeira cake with a little butter-cream which is used to keep the cake sliding off the board. The icing was not too thick and was  nice and soft.  It was shared between Hubby, son, grandson and myself. We all liked the taste and texture.

baker days, letterbox cake

The Verdict: The idea of a Letterbox Cake is great but at £14.99 I personally think it’s too expensive.  However I can see the appeal if you want to send something a little different for a celebration.

Baker Days  sent me this letterbox cake for the purpose of this review. All opinions are my own. 
All words/photos are copyright of Soosie Wales. 

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

