REVIEW: Red Hot World Buffet Cardiff September 2013

I was recently chosen to join the #RedHotTastemakers (you can read more here).

This was my first visit as a Red Hot Tastemaker. We booked for 4th September lunchtime. I took Hubby along as he was almost as keen as me to be part of it!

We arrived at 1:30pm and was warmly welcomed. We were shown to a table in the middle of the downstairs area. Hubby prefers to sit by a window or along a wall so I asked if we could have a table along the wall. No problem,  a table was set up and we were introduced to our waitress Marketa.
I explained that I was a Tastemaker and had to show her my email confirmation. She checked with the manager and came back with a big smile and confirmed that she was now aware of what the scheme is. Bless her!!

red hot buffet,

Oriental/Curry Station, Cakes, Sushi, Pasta Station

This is what we had and our opinions:

First Drink:

  • Cosmopolitan Cocktail and Cobra Beer – Cosmo was lovely – vodka and cranberry always a good mix. Cobra went well with the main course curry.

Starters:

  • Me – Sushi – very tasty and I was glad to see they had pickled ginger, wasabi and soy sauce available. I did try eating with chopsticks..but resorted to fingers and a fork.
  • Hubby – Soup – hot, tasty and quite spicy.

Salad Bar: Both of us picked bits and bobs from the selection.

  • Me – The Thai glass noodles and Tomato and mozzarella were my favourites.
  • Hubby – Liked the Tomato and mozzarella and the sprouting beans.
red hot buffet starters

Starters and Salads

Main:  There is so much to choose from, Chinese, Thai, Mexican, Pasta, Pizza, Teppanyaki but we both decided to go for Curry and we ended up choosing the same. Lamb Rogan, Chicken Korma and Pilau Rice. We also picked up some Onion Bhaji and Nan Bread.

  • Me – I preferred the Rogan, although it had a bit too much clove for my liking. I also prefer to have some onion and peppers in my Rogan.  The Pilau rice was exceptional, slightly spiced and fluffy.
  • Hubby – he preferred the Korma but was disappointed that he had to fish around for some chicken despite the pan having just been replenished on the buffet.
  • We both liked the Onion Bhaji, they had a good flavour and good crunchy crust.

Dessert: The selection is amazing. Everything is in tiny portions so you can fill your plate with lots of samples. There is also a chocolate fountain with cake and marshmallows that you can dip in.

  • Me – I liked all my selection, strawberry mouse, mango baked yogurt, chocolate brownies, my favourite were the doughy balls..served warm in a syrup – they are really scrummy..I could have had more of them!!
  • Hubby – He had apple crumble first which he thought was yummy. He then went back up as I told him there was a coconut and cherry dessert up there..he loves cherries!! He came back with a plate full of goodies, the cherry dessert, some of the doughy balls, brownies, jelly, mousse and mango yogurt. He scoffed the lot and declared that the desserts were his favourite part of the meal!
red hot buffet, curry, dessert, drink

Curry, Dessert Selection, Mojito!

2nd Drink

  • Apple Mojito and Kingfisher beer. The Mojito was delicious and I’ll definitely have it again. Mint, apple and vodka in a BIG glass..

Overall we had a great time at Red Hot. The food is well presented with plenty of choice to suit all palates and appetites.  Marketa took good care of us and was very patient waiting whilst I decided which cocktail to have.

We were both a little disappointed with the curry (hubby actually said mine were better – Sorry..) so we’ll try something else next time.  The starters and desserts were the stars of our lunch – oh along with the Apple Mojito!

The only other thing I would like to comment on is the ladies toilets. The entrance is VERY dark and inside smelt a bit (stale wee and horrid disinfectant), paper was peeling off the walls.  Could do with an overhaul!!

*Disclaimer as part of the #RedHotTastemakers we received a meal and drinks in exchange for an honest review, all thoughts pictures and content is my own and cannot be reproduced without permission.

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

