#Project365 33/52

Our youngest son’s friend Greg has gone to Australia. He’s going for 4 months on a work visa and also to be Best Man at the wedding. Well I say Best Man – actually one of 3 that son is having.. He was also Best Man for oldest son.  Facebook and Instagram updates by him have bought home the realisation of our trip in 5 weeks time… ARGH 5 weeks!!!!! Is that all it is now???

I’ve chosen our seats on the flights. No bulkhead seats left so chose to sit at the rear of the plane where there are only 2 seats in the row. At least we won’t have to disturb the outside person or have the window seat person disturb us.

Ashley started potty training a couple of weeks ago and took to it really well. So we bought a potty to keep here for him. He wasn’t so keen this week. I know there will be ups and downs so not worried – It’ll happen all in good time.

I’ve also been baking – using up some of the baking ingredients I won a few weeks ago.  I made a Victoria sandwich a week ago, it came out of the oven the same thickness as it went in! Very disappointed, the ALL IN ONE method always used to work for me but not this time.
After looking at possible reasons for failure – size of tins, old flour, not creaming the butter/sugar enough I gave it another go. I used 6 ounces of everything and three eggs as my tins are nearly 8 inches not the usual 6 inch.
I creamed the butter (well utterly butterly actually) and sugar to within an inch of its life, added the eggs and folded in flour from a new bag.  I wasn’t impressed with the result, still not risen enough, although better than my first effort. It tasted ok but it wasn’t very light. I think I’ll stick to chocolate banana cake and muffins!

I may make some custard slices later this week, I’ve not made them for years!

I’ve also been tidying the garden, hubby gave the bushes by the front wall a good trimming and I dead-headed and tidied the back garden, plant pots and baskets.  My cultivated Buddleia is in full bloom for the first time in about 3 years. It used to be in front of the retaining wall in the back garden and hubby used to trim the long shoots with the strimmer when he was doing the lawn. The shoots that it flowers on!!! So about 18 months ago we moved it into the retaining wall and this year it’s flourished with no interference from the monster with the strimmer!

buddleia, flowers, hanging basket,

Photos this week:

  • The poor excuse for a Victoria Sandwich.
  • Pink Spirea
  • Buddleia in bloom
  • Buddleia in close up.
  • Hanging basket by front door.
  • Hanging basket by garage door – I love those little purple flowers.

Check out my other Project 365 pictures so far.

If you’d like to read more about the project please click on the 365 badge

TheBoyandMe's 365 Linky

5 comments on “#Project365 33/52

  1. jenny paulin says:

    wow 5 weeks is not long at all! well done to Asley on the potty training.
    your hanging baskets look lovely so colourful and cheery.
    if you cake tins were 2 tins rather than 1 large one, then i always use
    200g butter, 200g flour, 200g sugar and 4 eggs and this *fingers crossed* always works xx

  2. Jaime Oliver says:

    what beautiful flowers! mine have not done half as well this year, although many of mine got attacked by my hubby when he was strimming and they dont seem to of recovered (the excuse i thought they were weeds did not help!)
    xx

  3. love all your flowers pictures, the colours are amazing. Never used utterly butterly but is the right “consistency” or “type of fat” for making cakes?
    I have to say I use the flora cuisine, doesnt need creaming and gives brilliant results even egg/gluten free.
    5 short weeks, wow!!

  4. The garden and flowers look stunning and I think Victoria Sponge looks great (I bet there wasn’t any left). 5 weeks and counting – how exciting.

  5. TheBoyandMe says:

    That Victoria Sandwich is much better than mine, they either don’t rise or rise and drop really quickly in the middle. That cake would be a success in my books, I blame my oven. I hate my buddleia, I need to dig it up. Absolutely beautiful hanging baskets, fuschias are gorgeous.

    Thanks for linking up to Project 365.

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

