A bit of a rant

I’m going to have a bit of a rant today. I’ve been getting quite incensed about items in the news regarding hospital care, the NHS in crisis and the general malaise that is pervading the young population of this country.

If you are easily offended by one person’s opinion then please do not read on..but if you’re up for reading on and perhaps adding your own thoughts then please do continue!

A friend of mine posted a picture of a newspaper cutting on her Facebook timeline.  It contained these words:

“Always we hear the cry from teenagers ‘What can we do, where can we go?’
… My answer is, “Go home, mow the lawn, wash the windows, learn to cook, build a raft, get a job, visit the sick, study your lessons, and after you’ve finished, read a book.”

“Your town does not owe you recreational facilities and your parents do not owe you fun. The world does not owe you a living, you owe the world something. You owe it your time, energy and talent so that no one will be at war, in poverty or sick and lonely again.”

“In other words, grow up, stop being a cry baby, get out of your dream world and develop a backbone, not a wishbone. Start behaving like a responsible person. You are important and you are needed. It’s too late to sit around and wait for somebody to do something someday. Someday is now and that somebody is you…”

It was apparently published in a NZ newspaper, but having Googled the text it is actually attributed to Judge Phillip B Gilliam of Denver, Colorado, in a letter published on December 17, 1959. – See more at: http://www.mercatornet.com/family_edge/view/11136#sthash.TsDLtBOg.dpuf

When I was a teenager (and younger) all the kids in our street played outside when it was dry. We played in the park, on the playing field – football, rounders, tag, hide and seek, in the street – rounders, skipping, tag. We went for walks and bike rides – miles and miles at a time. When it was wet we played in each others houses, we read, played board games, played card games (I could play cribbage from the age of 8 and beat my mum!) We hardly ever got into trouble and treated our elders with respect.

We would never and I mean NEVER call an adult by their first name. To do so was frowned upon. It kept the line drawn between children and adults. If an adult told you off you apologised unreservedly, you certainly wouldn’t answer back, they’d frog march you to your parents if you did!
When you started work anyone not your own age was refered to as Mr / Mrs / Miss.
Now that I’m and adult I hate it when people can assume they can call you by your first name, especially on the phone.
I’m in my 50’s and I occasionally see the woman who lived next door to us when I was growing up – she’s well in her 80’s now – I STILL call her Mrs. Kidd. I wouldn’t dream of calling her by her first name (Georgina).

It is my opinion there is something drastically wrong with today’s society. The younger generation is all me, me, me. They want a job at the top and not willing to ‘work their way up’.
Many of them want an easy life and have no respect for anyone. At work they think they can carry on their social life by calling/texting/messaging/emailing friends instead of working. Work is a means of paying for your social life. The only way your social life pays for work is with being dismissed from your job!

Does this stem from education?  When I was in school the teacher stood at the front of the class and taught you. Nowadays the teacher gives tasks to pupils and lets them get on with it. Do children now read and write enough? There seems to be a lot of children that cannot spell, they always seem to blame it on being Dyslexic.. Dyslexia is not the inability to spell it is much broader than that.
When I was in Junior school we used to have a 50 word spelling test every week and had to read aloud at once a week. Do they ever do this in schools now?  I had people working for me who could barely spell, they depended on the spell checker on the PC – or sent emails or completed records using text-speak!

You will have no doubt seen in the news the apparent crisis of the A&E and the poor performance of the level of care in hospitals and in care homes. Patients left for hours with no care, nursing staff that don’t seem to give a damn. Some of the blame for this has to rest with the management and government. Too much time is spent on finance and not enough on making sure staff are doing their duty.  A Manager is supposed to nuture and mentor their staff and there seems to be little evidence of this in the hospitals that have been reported as failing.
There are too many staff willing to just coast along or think they don’t have to care. They probably also think they are not paid enough to do what they do. Well don’t do it then..find a menial job with no responsibility. You surely decided on nursing / medicine as a VOCATION. A vocation that CARES for people. Not a vocation / job that gives you the right to stand at the nurses station along with the rest of the staff on duty to talk about last nights TV /  who’s knocking off who / where you’re going on holiday……

The elderly seem to be getting the thin end of wedge with regards to care. Perhaps the nursing staff and doctors think anyone past 40 isn’t worth saving! God help you if you’re over 60! And ‘why are you still here’ if you’re over 80! It shouldn’t make any difference what age the patient is, they should be given the highest level of care and treated with respect.

I’m going to move on the unemployed now. Now I really am on my soap box!!
The news reports that the government needs to do something about youth unemployment. Oh really do they?? What about older unemployment? I’m unemployed and have been for 3 years. I qualified for 6 months JSE and as hubby is working I didn’t qualify for any other benefits because we have a ‘household’ income.  I’ve worked and paid full National Insurance and paid Income tax but now get nothing.
The young adults leaving school / college / university have probably never paid National Insurance or Income Tax but are still entitled to claim JSE. But did you know that they can continue to claim unemployment benefit even if they live at home and one or both parents are working? That’s a bit unfair if you ask me! I’m not treated as one person – I’m treated as half of my husband so get nothing.
When my own son was unemployed he got benefits and both hubby and I were earning but our income was not taken into account for his benefit claim. This is wrong!! If it’s ‘household’ income for me then it should be ‘household’ income for any claimant living at home.

Right on to the malaise of the younger generation.
You read all the time of gangs of youths patrolling streets looking for trouble, stealing anything they think should be their’s. Younger people shouting offensive names to any one walking by that do not conform to what they think of as the ‘norm’ (oh now that’s a whole new post crying out there… the media need for every girl to be a size 0 and boys with 6 packs… GRRR)
Online bullying and trolls – it’s easy to name call when you’re faceless.
The need to have the latest of everything, the labelled clothing..
They scream ‘We got nuffin to do innit.. / we go nowere to go. They blame everyone but themselves for their predicament. Well I got news for you.. The world does NOT owe you a living. Read the article,  get off your arses and become solid citizens. You are our future generations. Don’t let this country (or any other country) go to hell in a hand cart!

Oh and before you mention… I KNOW this doesn’t apply to everyone. I KNOW there are good nurses and doctors out there that do give a damn. I KNOW there are good educators out there. I KNOW there are younger people who work hard (some of them worked for me – so proud of them too!), I KNOW there are younger people who are law-abiding. BUT there are also TOO MANY that don’t give damn.

 

2 comments on “A bit of a rant

  1. Cathie B says:

    Oohhh Soos – you’ve just taken the words out of my mouth. When I turned 16, my parents told me I had to get a Saturday job otherwise I would have no money. The day after I left Uni, I woke up late and sat in the lounge eating my breakfast. My mum walked in and said “Well, unless your on annual leave, that’s the last day you do this. When you’ve finished your breakfast, print off your CV, here’s £1 for your busfare and when you’ve gotten a job with the agency that you’re visiting today, you can pay me back!!!” Never been out of work since!!!! The world didn’t owe me anything, society didn’t but I sure as hell owed my parents everything, and still do – for the work ethic, dignity and pride in my myself that they instilled in me. Fab piece xxx

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

