RECIPE: Lamb Tagine (126/366)

I’ve made this many times and used to cook it for a couple of hours in a low oven. When I bought my slow cooker it was one of the first things I cooked in it.

I’ve no idea where I got the recipe from, the ingredients are written down on a scrap of paper and some of the amounts have been adjusted since first being written. So I have a dual reason for blogging about it – one – to keep a record of my recipe for my use and – two – to be able to share one of my favourite recipes with you.

There is quite a list of ingredients – don’t be put off it’s all needed for a lovely full flavour that is a mix of sweet, savoury and a little spicy. If you don’t have a slow cooker dump it all in a casserole in a low oven for a couple of hours.

I use an 800g bag of ‘Value’ lamb chops. I trim the meat off the bones. You can use this or chump chops, leg chops, scrag end, neck or stewing lamb.

I serve it with cous cous – I cook it with chicken stock and then add half an onion sweated off with a pinch of the spices added to it,  stirred in at the end.

For 4 very generous servings.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cloves garlic – crushed (or half teaspoon of Lazy Garlic)
  • 100g ready to eat dried apricots
  • 750g lamb (see above)
  • 2 onions – sliced
  • 1 tsp Cumin
  • 1 tsp Coriander
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • half tsp Turmeric
  • half tsp ginger
  • Can of chopped tomatoes
  • 500ml chicken stock (home made or made up with stock cube/powder)
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 125ml red wine
  • 2 sweet peppers – sliced
  • 1 lemon quartered (remove before serving!)
  • salt and pepper

Method:

  • Trim lamb and fry quickly to seal and brown lightly. Transfer to the Slow cooker.
  • Fry the onions until transparent, add spices and garlic and fry for a minute.
  • Add the red wine and honey and bring to the boil. Tranfer to the slow cooker
  • Add all other ingredients to the slow cooker and stir.
  • Turn slow cooker to LOW put lid on and cook for 6 to 8 hours.
  • After 5 hours check seasoning and adjust if required.

Serve with Cous-Cous, bread and extra vegetables if you wish.

I served it with cous-cous and flatbread – it’s from a recipe in Gino d’Acampo’s baking book. Easy peasy – fantastico!!

If you’d like to see more recipes click RECIPES

Check out my other Project 366 pictures so far.

8 comments on “RECIPE: Lamb Tagine (126/366)

  1. This sounds awesome. I can’t get enough of lamb, especially tagine. Brilliant!

    • Sue says:

      Thanks for your comment. Tastes awesome too. A bag of the Value frozen lamb chops from sainsburys is ample for this recipe.
      I’ve had a sneak back to your blog too.. Given me the idea of adding the convertion tables as a page…thanks – I use the Delia Online one.

  2. grumpinator says:

    Yum! Looks delicious x

  3. Look amazing! Thank you for posting. I live slow cooker recipes!

  4. I love lamb, but a good cut is so expensive

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

