118/366 Torquay at night

Well Friday was our last day and last night we went to see Derren Brown’s Svengali show. 

It had stopped raining by the time we left the theatre so we decided to go for a drink before going back to the hotel. It was also an ideal time for me to take some night-time shots. I dont’ get the chance to take many shots after dark so this was a bit of an experiment. I started off by selecting ‘night scenery’ on my camera and took a few shots.

First one is out of focus and you can’t see the detail of the boats. It also not adhering to the ‘thirds’ rule and would have needed to be cropped from the top. The second one was better, got a few nice reflections.

They are ok but not the results I wanted. I changed the setting to ‘Starry Sky’ and found somewhere to balance the camera as the shutter was going to take 15 seconds to take the shot. I then got these 2 shots. The one of the blue lit marina entrance flags is my 118/366 picture.

If you are a photographer looking at my pictures and think you can give me any tips please leave a comment, I’d really appreciate any feedback. I took these with a Panasonic TZ8 Super Compact.

Check out my other Project 366 pictures so far.

If you’d like to read more about the project please click on the badge below.

TheBoyandMe's 366 Linky

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

