RECIPE – Lasagne – 112/366

RECIPE – Lasagne

I can’t remember where I found the original recipe for the first  Lasagne I ever made, it was at least 30 years ago and I know I have changed it along the way.

My oldest son ‘C’ loves lasagne and if I ask if he and his girlfriend wants to come for dinner he always asks if I’ll make lasagne.

You may or may not know that lasagne is basically a bolognaise sauce and a white/cheese sauce layered in a dish with pasta sheets then baked in the oven.

I don’t make white sauce in a saucepan with flour and butter, it just takes too long, I make it with cornflour in a microwave.  I don’t put any butter or salt in it as the cheese will compensate for it. I also use white pepper to season the sauce, I prefer the flavour and you don’t get black flecks in your sauce. It’s up to you of course how you make your white sauce!

I use a 21cm square dish which gives 4 very generous portions.

Ingredients:

Lasagne sheets – how many depends on which brand you buy.

Meat Sauce

  • 12 oz /350g lean beef or lamb mince
  • 1 chopped onion
  • 1 crushed clove garlic
  • 4 oz chopped mushrooms
  • 400g tin chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon tomato puree
  • 2 tsp  mixed herbs
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • black pepper
  • salt

White Sauce

  • 1 desertspoon cornflour
  • 15 fl oz / 425 ml milk
  • white pepper
  • 4 oz / 100g grated cheddar cheese

Method:

  • Heat a little oil in a frying pan and fry onion until transparent.
  • Add the mince and stir to break up. Continue cooking until mince is well browned.
  • Add garlic and fry for a minute.
  • Add all other ingredients except for salt and pepper, stir to combine.
  • Bring to a boil – adding a little water if too dry – turn heat down and simmer covered for 20 – 30 minutes stirring occasionally.
  • While the meat sauce is cooking make the white sauce.
  • In a 2 pint jug slake the cornflour in a little of the milk.
  • Add rest of milk and stir. Place in the microwave and heat for 2 minutes
  • Remove from microwave and stir well, cook for a further minute or until thickened – it should be a little thicker than double cream.
  • Stir in 3 oz of the cheese – the rest will be scattered over the top of the lasagne!
  • Season to taste with white (or black) pepper
  • Check the meat sauce and season to taste

ASSEMBLY

  1. transfer half of the sauce to the cooking dish and spread in an even layer. Cover with lasagne sheets
  2. Pour over half of the white sauce and spread in an even layer,
  • cover white sauce with lasagne sheets.
  • Repeat steps 1-2 above
  • Sprinkle the top with the last ounce of cheese.

Place on bottom shelf of the oven at 170 degrees /Gas 3 for 40 minutes.

Serve with a crispy salad and garlic bread.

Lasagne

 

Lasagne

Check out my other Recipes

Check out my other Project 366 pictures so far.

If you’d like to read more about the project please click on the badge below.

TheBoyandMe's 366 Linky

2 comments on “RECIPE – Lasagne – 112/366

  1. oh like the sound of the white sauce…will need to try that one

    • Sue says:

      It’s so much quicker than doing it in a saucepan! All that stirring… I do the same sauce for Cauliflower Cheese, but add a teaspoon of Dijon Mustard to it too.
      Chef’s will probably sniff at microwave sauces but unless they can come to my house and prove me wrong then my way is the only way!! LOL

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

