RECIPE: Chorizo and Chicken Paella (94/366)

RECIPE: Chorizo and Chicken Paella

Serving Paella at our house is difficult. I love a good paella and love seafood, hubby likes paella but not the seafood kind. YES I know paella is a seafood dish but he always opts for the meat version if we are on holiday.

The best one I’ve ever had was at AYO’s in Nerja, Spain. The restaurant is on the beach and when we went there in November 2001 they only served Paella and only opened at lunch time! Along with crusty bread, salad and a beer or wine or three it was the perfect lunch. It suited hubby too as the Paella had chicken and pork as well as lots of seafood.

When my youngest son still lived at home I used to make us a paella for supper when hubby was working nights. Huge plates of rice, veg and mixed seafood – perfect.
So now he’s left home and it’s just me and hubby I have to compromise.. so here’s my meaty version of paella. I serve it with a salad and a toasted tortilla wraps.

To ring changes try adding peas / sweetcorn or of course you could add some seafood!!

Ingredients: Serves 2

  • 3 oz / 60g Chorizo
  • 1 chicken breast
  • 1 red or green bell pepper – diced
  • 1 medium onion – diced
  • 1 clove garlic – crushed
  • half pint / 275ml hot chicken stock
  • quarter pint / 150 ml white wine
  • half teaspoon turmeric
  • 5 ounces / 150g paella or arborio rice
  • Salt and pepper
  • chopped parsley – for decoration

Method:

  • Remove the casing from the chorizo (you don’t have to but I prefer to remove it). Cut in half length ways and slice each half.
  • Cube the chicken
  • Heat a couple of teaspoons of oil in a heavy based saute pan (fry pan) and gently fry the chicken and chorizo until the chicken is just beginning to colour.  Remove from the pan leaving behind any oil.
  • fry onion and pepper in remaining oil until onion is transparent.
  • Add garlic and turmeric and fry for a minute.
  • Add the rice and stir for a minute to coat with the oil.
  • Add chorizo and chicken back to the pan.
  • Pour in the wine and bring to the boil.
  • Pour in hot stock bring back to boil.
  • Simmer gently for 15 to 20 minutes stirring every few minutes with a fork.
  • If the mixture is getting too dry add a little more hot stock or hot water.
  • When the rice is just tender and the liquid has nearly all been absorbed check for seasoning. Add salt and pepper if needed.
  • Serve sprinkled with a little chopped parsley.

Serving:

Check out my other Project 366 pictures so far.

If you’d like to read more about the project please click on the badge below.

TheBoyandMe's 366 Linky

7 comments on “RECIPE: Chorizo and Chicken Paella (94/366)

  1. Karen says:

    Your paella sounds great. I think that if I were in your place, I would cook a little seafood in some broth and just add it to your plate of meat paella.

  2. grumpinator says:

    I love chorizo! I think I might try my hand at this one.

  3. grumpinator says:

    Looks delicious! I might try my hand at this one, looks delicious!

  4. Scottish Mum says:

    That Paella looks gorgeous.

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

