RECIPE: Green Beans and Tomato Tapas

RECIPE: Green Beans and Tomato Tapas

I scoured recipe sites for inspiration and most had Patatas Bravas, tortilla, paella or soup. I wanted something different and  remembered having a Tapas in Nerja that had green beans and tomato which became one of my favourites. I never did find out the recipe from the cafe owner but I think I have it sussed in this recipe – well nearly anyway!

Ingredients:

For 2 portions:

  • 40z /100g green beans – trimmed and cut in half
  • Half a medium onion chopped
  • 1 crushed clove of garlic
  • 2 tomatoes – de-seeded and chopped
  • couple of pinches of oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • olive oil

Method:

  • Heat a tablespoon of olive oil into a small pan
  • Add the onions and fry until transparent
  • Add the garlic and fry for 30 seconds – don’t let it brown
  • Add the beans, tomato and oregano
  • Stir over a low heat for 10 minutes. If the mix gets too dry pour in a few teaspoons of water – just enough to moisten the mix.
  • Adjust seasoning and divide between 2 small dishes
  • Serve with other tapas dishes and crusty bread.

I had this for my lunch today – the beans still had a little bite, the tomato and oregano gave a lovely flavour.

I hope you’ll try it too. Bon appetit!

Check out my other Recipes

4 comments on “RECIPE: Green Beans and Tomato Tapas

  1. […] entered a competition they ran for bloggers to post a Tapas recipe – mine was Green Beans and Tomato Tapas and they added it to their competion page.  I’m really chuffed that little old me won even a […]

  2. @1978rebecca says:

    Mmmmm….I’m not surprised this won a prize.

  3. sounds like a lovely dish, quick and simple, healthy and nutritional. Love the bright green colour. Thanks for linking up.

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

