RECIPE – Beef Casserole (57/366 #Project366)

Beef Casserole

I’ve been cooking this casserole in one form or another for nearly 35 years. It’s based on a casserole my Nan used to make. Before I go on to the recipe itself a few hints.

  1. You can use braising steak and you don’t have to cube it just leave it steak form.
  2. I use shallots but you can use small onions (the ones used for pickling) or cut onions into quarters.
  3. You can add carrots and / or mushrooms for a change of taste.
  4. You can add Worcestershire Sauce or a dash of tomato sauce / tomato puree if you want a richer sauce.
  5. I note in the recipe to use Beef Stock. This can be stock cube, fresh, Oxo, Bovril or home-made. I use Bovril or Oxo as that’s what Nan always used. You can also substitute up to half with red wine.
  6. Check seasoning when almost cooked. Stock tends to be highly seasoned so you may not need very much.
  7. The use of vinegar helps to tenderise the meat. You can use any type of vinegar – I usually use balsamic or Sherry.
  8. It can be served with boiled or mashed potatoes. I generally serve it with Dauphinoise Potatoes. It’s also tasty with just a hunk of bread as it my photo.
  9. I used to cook this casserole in the oven for a couple of hours. I then had an oven with a S (slow) setting so I put it in for 30 mins at Gas mark 6 then turn it down to S and leave for 4 -6 hours. Nowadays I use a slow cooker. First hour on High then turn down to low for rest of day so it takes about 6 hours generally.

So on to the recipe.

Ingredients:

Use Imperial OR metric!!!

1lb / 500g diced stewing steak
80z / 225g Shallots
1oz / 25g flour
2 teaspoons dried sage
1 teaspoon French Mustard
1 pint / 568 ml beef Stock (made up as per instructions on whatever you are using.)
2 teaspoons Balsamic or Sherry Vinegar
Black pepper
Oil for frying

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven (if not using a slow cooker) to 150°C / 300°F / Gas Mark 2
  2. Place meat into a plastic bag with the flour and a large pinch of black pepper.  Give the bag a shake to coat the meat with the flour.
  3. Heat a little oil in a frying pan and fry the meat  in batches to seal and brown the meat. Place each batch into a casserole dish or slow cooker.
  4. Peel shallots and add to the meat in the dish.  (Add any other vegetables you are using now)
  5. Pour stock into the frying pan and bring to the boil and stir to deglaze the pan.
  6. Add vinegar and mustard to the stock and stir. Pour over the meat and vegetables.
  7. Add sage and stir well.
  8. Place lid on casserole dish and put in the pre-heated oven for 2½ hours.
  9. OR if using a slow cooker, cook on high for 1 hour then turn to low for 4 to 6 hours.
  10. Adjust seasoning to suit your taste and serve.
3 comments on “RECIPE – Beef Casserole (57/366 #Project366)

  1. That looks amazing, dark and delicious. I’ve made many a beef casserole in my time – In fact, I have one in the oven as I type – and they are always fantastic.

    • Sue says:

      Thanks for your comment. I always use the slow cooker now. A friend bought one and I saw one on sale in Sainsbury’s for £10. I cook all sorts in it. Bolognaise, casseroles, stews and I’ve even done Rice Pud!
      Casserole always better the day after though!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Mmmm sounds delicious!

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

