Where was I on 9/11?

I was going to start a Silent Sunday this week especially as it’s the 10th anniversary of 9/11. I’ve decided instead to document what I was doing and my thoughts of that fateful day.

I was working as the staff trainer for LloydsTSB IT Service Desk. I had been running training sessions as normal. We had come to the end of a session and I decided we had earned a break it was about 2:20pm. When we came out of the training room I could tell something was going on. Several people had the internet on their screens – an action that was frowned upon at the time.

My friend Sion came up to me to say that a plane had hit one of the Towers in New York. It was being reported on the Guardian website, I went to his desk and we refreshed the site – it took a few attempts as all news sites were being overloaded at the time. It eventually refreshed and then showed the pictures of the second plane. We couldn’t believe it, word quickly spread around the office and the phone calls to the office gradually just faded to a trickle – it was weird as we had calls in the queue all the time for months. This was the around the time Lloyds and TSB were merging systems.

The rest of the afternoon was spent looking at the news, everyone from management to new trainees were all talking about the consequences of what was happening. News of the hit at the Pentagon and United 93 broke and the harsh reality of what was happening started to sink in.

When the news broke about the Pentagon my first thoughts were for my friend Sion, his father worked in Washington for the British Embassy. He tried to reach his father on his mobile but got no reply. He rung his mother but she hadn’t heard from him either. It wasn’t until Thursday 13th that Sion found out that his father was alive and well. He had been evacuated but couldn’t call home as there was no mobile or phone connections. I was so relieved that Sion had heard this good news.

At 5pm I left work for what I thought would be the last time. I certainly felt that there would be no world to return to the next day. When I arrived home my husband and sons were watching the news feed on the TV. Hubby was going to go to the gym but had heard the news unfold on the radio and turned on the tv to see it all unfold. ‘Have you seen what’s going on?’ he said. I told him I had seen it in work and listened on the radio on the way home.

I’m pretty sure we watched the news for the rest of the day, watching in disbelief the horror of what happened to the world that day. Of course the world didn’t end but the world as it was certainly did.
Everything now is about security when flying, although this makes you feel reasonably safe I’m sure that if there were to be other attacks they wouldn’t use hijacked planes again. This was proved when London was hit on 7/7/2005.

I’ve been watching some of the anniversary programmes and even 10 years on it still seems unbelievable that all this happened. I hope I never have to see the likes of this happen again.

Thoughts and prayers to all those lost and affected on 9/11 – Much respect to the heroes of the day. Love to those that survived. XX

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

