Week 8 #Project365 – 2014

Over the past few months we’ve been making more of an effort to buy food and household items when they are on offer rather than when we need them.  This has resulted in full cupboards and a very full freezer.
So over the next couple of months we should only need to buy fresh food – bread, milk, eggs, yogurt, fruit and veg.  We certainly won’t go short of food for sometime!
Some of the best recent bargains have been :

  • turkey breast steaks – 3 for £1.149
  • PG Tips – 160 for £2.09
  • jars of salsa dip – 34p each – for hubby’s snack fest in the evenings!
  • bags of egg fried and pilau rice 37p each – not something I usually buy but there’s plenty in each for 2 people and makes a change from noodles or plain rice.
  • Baxters soup – at less than 50p tin – ideal for quick lunches.
  • Luxury Muesli – under a £1 bag

To make room for all the bargains I’ve had to tidy the kitchen cupboards and the freezer. The freezer is the size of a fridge freezer so holds quite a bit! At least I know where everything is in there now! Drawers full of meat and chicken, fish, bread/cakes/wraps, and home-made ready meals.

We had a drive out to Abergavenny and enjoyed a walk around the indoor market. Lots of stalls for the flea market but we both resisted buying anything – I’m a bugger for glasses and can’t usually resist nice shaped or coloured ones!
The market has big veggies hanging from the rafters!

Orange Wednesday this week was Dallas Buyers Club.  I wasn’t sure that it would live up to expectations as it’s getting very good reviews and also wasn’t sure hubby would like it considering the theme. Matthew McConaughey and Jared Leto lost loads of weight for the film and are virtually unrecognisable.  It’s a cracking story and I heartily recommend it to you.

We’re not seeing grandson until tomorrow – hopefully it’ll stay dry so we can all go for a walk and have some time in the park. Whatever it was that made him sick didn’t hang about long. Mummy and Daddy reported him fit and well on Sunday!

#project365, orange wednesday,
Check out my other Project 365 pictures so far.

If you’d like to read more about the project please click on the 365 badge

TheBoyandMe's 365 Linky

15 comments on “Week 8 #Project365 – 2014

  1. Family Fever says:

    Gosh look at your tidy cupboards, wish mine looked like that! #project365

  2. spicers1976 says:

    Well done on your well stocked cupboards

  3. Leanne Rain says:

    I find that’s the best way to keep cupboards full… we go all out when we find things on offer/reduced :) #project365 http://www.suggys.co.uk/Leanne

  4. Sarah says:

    Lovely interesting photos. I really want to see that film, even more now I have a recommendation. Such tidy cupboards. Totally put mine to shame. I am really not sure what is at the back of mine. Maybe your post will encourage me to sort them out.

  5. I saw the trailer for Dallas Buyers Club when I saw 12 Years a Slave -I couldn’t get over how anorexic they both looked #365

  6. I must get to the cinema to see some grown up films – lego movie this week!

  7. jennypaulin says:

    you sound all prepared with your food – i cannot resist a food bargain myselg which is why i always end up leaving the suprrmarket with more than i had planned!!
    i quite fancy seeing that film too so thanks for the heads up x x

  8. Jaime Oliver says:

    I love a good bargain too :-) … I hope you manage to get the dry day so you can spend it with your grandson x

  9. Love your craft fair picture and I’m with you on the bargains. OH checks out a big Asda once a week on his way back from work and we get some ridiculously priced stuff there but this week the prize goes to me with small tins of baked beans in Tescos for 8p each! Luckily these don;t need freezing as we only have a small freezer and it’s permanently rammed full.

  10. We just stocked up our larder last week too! Great to hear Dallas Buyers Club is worth seeing.

  11. Jaime Oliver says:

    I am the same honey i only ever buy things when they are on offer, stock up the cupboard and then only buy fresh stuff for a couple of months :-) it saves a fortune x

  12. Must be a nice feeling to be all stocked up. We are so bad at forward planning like that.

  13. yes we buy stuff when on offer. I shop for an old lady on a wednesday ( a rich old lady) and if there are any bogof’s I get the free one as she only wants one and doesnt want the free one!! Also she gets 2 tins of Baxters soup and at the moment in Morrisons they are 98p each or 2 for £2, so I get 2 tins for 4p (dont normally eat tinned soup but at that price wont say no) Its my reward for being nice enough to do hers with mine.
    Indoor market sounds like a good day out, least you dont need to worry about the weather. Look forward to seeing Ashley next week, and getting an update on his little brother/sister to be

  14. Amanda Walsh says:

    I cant resist food bargains, having 6 to feed means I love a good bargain #Project365

  15. TheBoyandMe says:

    I really need to wade through the food in my fridge, freezer and cupboards because I know that I’ve got enough to last us a month or more! Good bargain hunting, very frugal.

    Thanks for linking up to Project 365.

You are welcome to comment - what do you think?

